#nicolausaugustottoaward #naoa

This year, DEUTZ is presenting its prestigious Nicolaus August Otto Award for the third time. The engine manufacturer’s innovation prize is named for the inventor of the four-stroke engine and founder of the company that would later become DEUTZ AG.

In 2021, the award ceremony is taking place for the first time as part of the #neuland congress, a think tank for future-focused topics such as sustainable mobility.

THE AWARD

For more than 150 years, DEUTZ AG has stood for unsurpassed drive technology, which is why it is one of the world’s leading manufacturers of groundbreaking drive systems today. Founded by the pioneer and coinventor of the four-stroke principle, Nicolaus August Otto, the traditional Cologne-based company has succeeded in constantly reinventing itself and meeting the challenges posed by changing factors with innovative strength.

By awarding the Nicolaus August Otto Award, named after its founder, DEUTZ AG aims to herald a symbolic renaissance of innovation and pioneering spirit. This is why the Nicolaus August Otto Award is awarded for decisive shaping of the future, novel technology, groundbreaking futurology, and for an outstanding lifetime achievement. It is intended to honor visionaries of our time and, endowed with prize money of €30,000, to promote the prize winners’ new, big ideas. Hendrik Wüst, minister for transport for North Rhine-Westphalia, is patron of the award.

NICOLAUS AUGUST OTTO

1853

After training to be a businessman, Otto works as a traveling salesperson in Cologne from 1853, and starts to delve into the world of internal combustion engine technology.

1862

Otto starts to test a four-stroke engine he had built himself, which did not, however, lead to the intended success he had wished for due to the explosive nature of the fuel.

1864

Otto gives up his job as a traveling salesperson and founds N.A.Otto & Cie. (DEUTZ AG today) together with the engineer and sugar manufacturer Eugen Langen – the first factory in the world dedicated exclusively to the production of internal combustion engines.

1867

An atmospheric gas engine developed by Otto and Langen is awarded the gold medal at the world’s fair in Paris for being the most economical engine for small businesses.

1876

Otto completes the four-stroke engine with compressed charge, which can be used for all types of fuel and applications.

1882

Otto receives an honorary doctorate from the Faculty of Philosophy at the University of Würzburg together with Bell, the inventor of the telephone.

1890er

Otto ends his work on the internal combustion engine with the development of the magneto-electric low-voltage ignition, the prerequisite for internal combustion engines that are independent of the gas network.

1891

Otto dies on January 26, in Cologne at the age of 59. At Cologne’s Melaten cemetery, a grave of honor commemorates the inventor of the four-stroke principle today.

1996

As part of the USA’s celebrations of the 100th anniversary of its automobile history, Otto is inducted into the Automotive Hall of Fame in Detroit together with Wilhelm Maybach.

2002

On March 5, 2002, Otto is inducted into the European Automotive Hall of Fame in Geneva.

2019

The Nicolaus August Otto Award is awarded for the first time.

1853
1862
1864
1867
1876
1882
1890er
1891
1996
2002
2019

The award winner

This year, DEUTZ AG is honoring Professor Anke Kaysser-Pyzalla. The mechanical engineer and materials science specialist has been the Chair of the Executive Board of the German Aerospace Center (DLR) since October 1, 2020. The DLR covers a comprehensive range of topics in basic and applied research, including hybrid rocket engines, quantum computing, and carbon-neutral aviation. Climate change mitigation is an integral part of its research in the areas of space exploration, aeronautics, energy, and transportation.

Professor Kaysser-Pyzalla completed her doctorate and qualified as a university lecturer at Ruhr University Bochum. Following research activities at the Hahn-Meitner Institute (HMI) and the Technical University of Berlin, she conducted research and taught as a university professor at the Vienna University of Technology from 2003 to 2005. In 2005, she joined the management team at Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung GmbH in Düsseldorf as a scientific member, director, and then managing director. In 2008, she was appointed scientific director of the Helmholtz Center for Materials and Energy in Berlin, which was created under her leadership by merging HMI and BESSY. Professor Kaysser-Pyzalla was President of the Technical University of Braunschweig from May 2017 until her appointment at the DLR.

Das DLR ist weit mehr als das Forschungszentrum der Bundesrepublik Deutschland für Luft- und Raumfahrt. Es verknüpft seine wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten und technischen Entwicklungen in diesen Bereichen mit seinem Know-how der Themen Energie und Verkehr sowie in den Querschnittsthemen Sicherheit und Digitalisierung. Über die eigene Forschung hinaus ist das DLR als Raumfahrtagentur im Auftrag der Bundesregierung für die Planung und Umsetzung der deutschen Raumfahrtaktivitäten zuständig sowie als Projektträger tätig.

Interview: “Innovative mobility solutions require new and efficient structures”

1. What can we here on Earth learn from the German Aerospace Center? For example, in relation to greener transportation?

What makes the German Aerospace Center so unique is that it brings together research in the fields of aeronautics, energy and transportation while working on the future of mobility. We apply our interdisciplinary expertise in the spirit of the European Green Deal to actively shape the transition toward greener solutions, for example in aviation. We are pursuing the vision of carbon-neutral flight, which includes the development of sustainable fuels and route planning that reduces the impact on the climate. We also look at aircraft as a complete system, from design and production to operation and retirement. Digitalization, simulation, data management, and artificial intelligence play an essential role in this, as will quantum technologies.

Aeronautics, transportation, and energy research also benefit from knowledge gained in space exploration, such as the handling of hydrogen. This can help when it comes to optimizing a variety of processes in the development of sustainable fuels, for example. These play an important role in shaping and delivering new mobility solutions in the air and on the ground. The implementation of carbon-neutral mobility is also reliant on the transfer of research findings to the development of new intermodal transportation concepts, which increasingly involves data from Earth observation and the fields of navigation and communication. In order to achieve the best possible results for all parties involved, the German Aerospace Center works closely with industry in the application of its research findings. The center also provides fresh ideas for the business start-up ecosystem.

2. Since you mention the Green Deal, what do you believe will be the key source of energy in the near future, and why?

Producing energy using regenerative methods and from carbon-neutral fuels will be key to ensuring that mobility is as green as possible. Providing sustainable energy in sufficient and constant quantity is a major task for science and industry, and for policymakers too, of course, as it is they who establish the framework within which we act.

No single energy source will be available in sufficient quantities in the near future, given the growing global population and people’s ever-increasing transportation needs. That is why the German Aerospace Center is looking at a range of energy sources, including sustainably produced hydrogen and synthetic fuels, in particular low-carbon variants. It examines and optimizes potential use cases in ground transportation, aviation, and space exploration. To efficiently meet the huge demand for sustainable fuels, the German Aerospace Center is developing machinery and processes for industrial applications that will enable sufficient production capacity in the future. This includes the development and refinement of warehousing and storage technologies. The range of applications covers everything from construction and agricultural machinery to marine engines.

3. What are the biggest challenges on the path toward carbon-neutral mobility?

Innovative mobility solutions require new and efficient structures, and they need to be modular and flexible to satisfy a broader spectrum of mobility. But above all, energy consumption must be reduced by increasing efficiency. The Technische Universität Braunschweig, for example, has established the SE²A cluster of excellence with the aim of reducing emissions and noise pollution, ensuring that air transport systems can be recycled, and developing improvements in air traffic management. In all probability, sustainable energy sources and new infrastructure will lead to rising costs.

Legislators around the globe need to work together to counter any impact on society, and global regulation is needed to support the development and implementation of market-based measures such as emissions trading and carbon offsetting. In addition to technological issues, it is vital to take social and economic aspects into account.

4. Do we need more innovation and research to boost Germany’s reputation as a leading business hub?

Germany needs to be readied for future mobility solutions in good time and in a targeted way. Facilitating carbon-neutral mobility by making purposeful progress in unlocking the potential that I mentioned earlier forms part of this. Thanks to the close collaboration between business and the research community, active networks are translating knowledge into innovations. This makes it easier to deliver future-proof solutions profitably and to find answers to the challenges society is facing, in particular in relation to climate change.
In this context, protecting terrestrial, maritime, and space-based infrastructures and ensuring the safety of information systems and data will become increasingly important.

MEDIA CENTER

You can find some impressions from the last Nicolaus August Otto Award ceremony here in the form of videos, images, and documents. All media can be downloaded for free.

PDF (2,24 MB)
Festschrift NAOA 2021
PDF (157 KB)
Greeting Speech 2021
Dr. Frank Hiller
Chairman of the Board of Management, DEUTZ AG
PDF (416 KB)
Press release NAOA 2021,
DEUTZ presents innovation award
Video (125 MB)
Acceptance Speech
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reitzle
Winner of the Nicolaus August Otto Award 2020
Video (197 MB)
Laudatio
Prof. Dr. Andreas Pinkwart
Minister of Economics of North Rhine Westphalia
Video (71,1 MB)
Greeting Speech
Dr. Frank Hiller
Chairman of the Board of Management, DEUTZ AG
Video (71,1 MB)
Greeting Speech
Dr. Bernd Bohr
Chairman of the Supervisory Board, DEUTZ AG
PDF (4,9 MB)
Festschrift NAOA 2020
Zip (192 MB)
Impressions of the NAO award ceremony 2019
PDF (4,7 MB)
Festschrift NAOA 2019
PDF (16,3 KB)
Press release NAO 2019
Image (6 MB)
DEUTZ Innovation Center 2020
Image (4 MB)
CEO Dr. Frank Hiller with NAO Trophy 2020

#nicolausaugustottoaward #naoa

In diesem Jahr verleiht der Motorenhersteller DEUTZ den renommierten Nicolaus August Otto Award bereits zum dritten Mal. Namensgeber des Innovationspreises ist der Erfinder des Viertaktmotors und Gründer der späteren DEUTZ AG.

2021 findet die Preisverleihung erstmals im Rahmen des #neuland-Kongresses statt, dem Think Tank für Zukunftsthemen wie nachhaltige Mobilität.

DER AWARD

Seit mehr als 150 Jahren steht die DEUTZ AG für unübertroffene Antriebstechnik und ist deshalb heute einer der weltweit führenden Hersteller wegweisender Antriebssysteme. Gegründet vom Pionier und Miterfinder des Viertaktprinzips, Nicolaus August Otto, ist es dem Kölner Traditionsunternehmen gelungen, sich immer wieder neu zu erfinden und den Herausforderungen der sich verändernden Rahmenbedingungen mit Innovationskraft zu begegnen.

Mit der Verleihung des nach ihrem Gründer benannten Nicolaus August Otto Awards will die DEUTZ AG eine symbolische Renaissance von Innovation und Pioniergeist einläuten. Deshalb wird der Nicolaus August Otto Award für entscheidende Zukunftsgestaltung, neuartige Technik, wegweisende Zukunftsforschung und für ein herausragendes Lebenswerk verliehen. Er soll Visionäre unserer Zeit ehren und, dotiert mit einem Preisgeld von 30.000 Euro, die neuen, großen Ideen der Preisträger fördern. Hendrik Wüst, Minister für Verkehr des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen, ist Schirmherr des Preises.

NICOLAUS AUGUST OTTO

1853

Nach einer Ausbildung zum Kaufmann arbeitet Otto ab 1853 als Handlungsreisender in Köln und beginnt, sich mit der Welt der Verbrennungsmotorentechnik zu beschäftigen.

1862

Otto beginnt mit der Erprobung eines selbstgebauten Viertaktmotors, der jedoch aufgrund der Explosivität des Kraftstoffs nicht den gewünschten Erfolg bringt.

1864

Otto gibt seinen Beruf als Handelsreisender auf und gründet zusammen mit dem Ingenieur Eugen Langen die N.A.Otto & Cie. (heute DEUTZ AG) zusammen mit dem Ingenieur und Zuckerfabrikanten Eugen Langen - die erste Fabrik der Welt, die sich ausschließlich der Produktion von Verbrennungsmotoren widmet.

1867

Ein von Otto und Langen entwickelter atmosphärischer Gasmotor erhält auf der Weltausstellung in Paris die Goldmedaille für den sparsamsten Motor für Kleinbetriebe.

1876

Otto vervollständigt den Viertaktmotor mit komprimierter Ladung, die für alle Kraftstoffarten und Anwendungen verwendet werden kann.

1882

Otto erhält zusammen mit Bell, dem Erfinder des Telefons, die Ehrendoktorwürde der Philosophischen Fakultät der Universität Würzburg.

1890er

Otto beendet seine Arbeit am Verbrennungsmotor mit der Entwicklung der magneto-elektrischen Niederspannungszündung, der Voraussetzung für gasnetzunabhängige Verbrennungsmotoren.

1891

Otto stirbt am 26. Januar in Köln im Alter von 59 Jahren. Auf dem Kölner Melatenfriedhof erinnert heute ein Ehrengrab an den Erfinder des Viertaktprinzips.

1996

Im Rahmen der Feierlichkeiten zum 100-jährigen Bestehen des Automobils in den USA wird Otto zusammen mit Wilhelm Maybach in die Automotive Hall of Fame in Detroit aufgenommen.

2002

Am 5. März 2002 wird Otto in die European Automotive Hall of Fame in Genf aufgenommen.

2019

Der Nicolaus August Otto Award wird zum ersten Mal verliehen.

1853
1862
1864
1867
1876
1882
1890er
1891
1996
2002
2019

Die Preisträgerin

In diesem Jahr ehrt die DEUTZ AG Prof. Dr.-Ing. Anke Kaysser-Pyzalla. Die Werkstofftechnikerin ist seit dem 1. Oktober 2020 Vorstandsvorsitzende des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt e. V. (DLR). Ob Hybridraketentriebwerke, Quantencomputing oder klimaneutrales Fliegen: Das DLR steht für ein umfassendes Themenspektrum in Grundlagen- und angewandter Forschung. In den Forschungsbereichen Raumfahrt, Luftfahrt, Energie und Verkehr sowie in den Querschnittsthemen Sicherheit und Digitalisierung ist der Klimaschutz dabei Bestandteil.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Anke Kaysser-Pyzalla promovierte und habilitierte an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Nach Forschungstätigkeiten am Hahn-Meitner-Institut (HMI) und an der TU Berlin forschte und lehrte sie von 2003 bis 2005 als Universitätsprofessorin an der Technischen Universität Wien. 2005 wechselte sie als Wissenschaftliches Mitglied, Direktorin und Geschäftsführerin in die Leitung der Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung GmbH nach Düsseldorf. 2008 folgte die Berufung zur Wissenschaftlichen Geschäftsführerin der Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie GmbH, die unter ihrer Leitung aus der Fusion von HMI und BESSY entstand. Von Mai 2017 bis zum Amtsantritt beim DLR war Kaysser-Pyzalla Präsidentin der Technischen Universität Braunschweig.

Das DLR ist weit mehr als das Forschungszentrum der Bundesrepublik Deutschland für Luft- und Raumfahrt. Es verknüpft seine wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten und technischen Entwicklungen in diesen Bereichen mit seinem Know-how der Themen Energie und Verkehr sowie in den Querschnittsthemen Sicherheit und Digitalisierung. Über die eigene Forschung hinaus ist das DLR als Raumfahrtagentur im Auftrag der Bundesregierung für die Planung und Umsetzung der deutschen Raumfahrtaktivitäten zuständig sowie als Projektträger tätig.

Interview: „Innovative Mobilitätskonzepte erfordern neue und effiziente Strukturen“

1. Was können wir vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt auf der Erde lernen? Etwa mit Blick auf eine „grünere Mobilität“?

Mit der in Europa einzigartigen Kombination von Forschungsthemen in der Luftfahrt, in der Energie und im Verkehr arbeitet das DLR an der Zukunft der Mobilität. Im Sinne des European Green Deal können wir durch unsere interdisziplinäre Kompetenz die Transformation zum Beispiel im Luftverkehr hin zu einer größeren Klimaverträglichkeit aktiv mitgestalten. Das DLR verfolgt dabei die Vision vom klimaneutralen Fliegen. Dazu gehört die Entwicklung von nachhaltigen Energieträgern ebenso, wie auch die klimaoptimierte Routenplanung. Zudem betrachten wir das Flugzeug als Gesamtsystem, vom Entwurf über die Produktion bis hin zum Betrieb und der Außerdienststellung. Die Digitalisierung und Simulation, das Datenmanagement und künstliche Intelligenz sowie zukünftig Quantentechnologien spielen dabei eine entscheidende Rolle.

In die Luftfahrt-, Verkehrs- und Energieforschung geht auch Wissen aus der Raumfahrt ein, etwa zum Umgang mit Wasserstoff. Das betrifft unter anderem das Optimieren unterschiedlicher Prozesse bei der Entwicklung nachhaltiger Energieträger. Diese spielen eine wichtige Rolle beim Gestalten und Umsetzen neuer Mobilitätskonzepte in der Luft und am Boden. Die Realisierung einer klimaneutralen Mobilität erfordert zudem den gezielten Transfer der Forschungsergebnisse in die Entwicklung neuer intermodaler Verkehrskonzepte. Dazu gehören zunehmend auch Daten aus der Erdbeobachtung sowie dem Bereichen Navigation und Kommunikation. Um bestmögliche Ergebnisse für alle Beteiligten zu erreichen, setzt das DLR seine Forschungsergebnisse in enger Kooperation mit der Industrie um. Zudem gibt das DLR Impulse für das Ökosystem der Start-ups.

2. Vor dem Hintergrund des „Green Deal“: Was ist aus Ihrer Sicht der Energieträger der nahen Zukunft – und warum?

Eine möglichst klimaneutrale Mobilität wird abhängig sein von der Energieumwandlung aus regenerativen Verfahren, ebenso aus CO2-neutralen Brennstoffen. Die ausreichende und konstante Verfügbarkeit nachhaltiger Energieträge gehört zu den großen Handlungsfeldern für Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft sowie für die Politik, die die Rahmenbedingungen bereitstellt.

Kein einzelner Energieträger wird angesichts der steigenden Weltbevölkerung und des immer größer werdenden Mobilitätsbedürfnisses der Menschen in naher Zukunft ausreichend vorhanden sein. Das DLR untersucht daher ein Portfolio unterschiedliche Energieträger. Dazu gehören nachhaltig erzeugter Wasserstoff und synthetische Kraftstoffe, zum Beispiel mit verringerter Rußbildung. Dabei werden die Nutzungspotenziale im Bereich Bodenverkehr, Luftfahrt und Raumfahrt untersucht und optimiert. Um den riesigen Bedarf an nachhaltigen Treibstoffen effizient abzudecken, entwickelt das DLR Anlagentechnik und Prozesse für industrielle Anwendungen, um zukünftig ausreichende Produktions-Kapazitäten zu ermöglichen. Hierzu gehört auch die Weiterentwicklung von Lagerungs- bzw. Speichertechnologien. Und die Palette der Anwendungen reicht dabei bis hin zu Bau- und Landmaschinen sowie Schiffsantrieben.

3. Welches sind die größten Herausforderungen auf dem Weg hin zu einer klimaneutralen Mobilität?

Innovative Mobilitätskonzepte erfordern neue und effiziente Strukturen, müssen für ein breiteres Mobilitätsspektrum modular und flexibel sein. Eine zwingende Voraussetzung ist das Reduzieren des Energiebedarfs durch die Steigerung der Effizienz. An der TU Braunschweig wurde dafür zum Beispiel das Exzellenzcluster „SE²A" gegründet. Die Ziele bestehen im Mindern von Emissionen und Lärmbelastung sowie im Gewährleisten der Recyclingfähigkeit von Lufttransportsystemen und dem Entwickeln eines angepassten Luftverkehrs-Managements. Es ist davon auszugehen, dass unter anderem nachhaltige Energieträger und die neuen Infrastrukturen steigende Kosten verursachen werden.

Um den gesellschaftlichen Auswirkungen zu begegnen, ist ein weltweit koordiniertes Vorgehen der Gesetzgeber notwendig. Es sind zudem globale Regularien gefragt, die die Entwicklung und Umsetzung von marktbasierten Maßnahmen wie den Emissionshandel und Klimakompensation unterstützen. Neben technologischen Fragen müssen in einem hohen Maß soziale und ökonomische Aspekte berücksichtigt werden.

4. Brauchen wir mehr Innovation und Forschung für den Wirtschaftsstandort Deutschland?

Der Wirtschaftsstandort Deutschland muss rechtzeitig und zielgerichtet auf zukünftige Mobilitätskonzepte vorbereitet werden. Dazu gehört, durch das gezielte Voranbringen der oben genannten Potenziale eine klimaneutrale Mobilität zu ermöglichen. Mit unserer engen Kooperation von Forschung und Wirtschaft entstehen in aktiven Netzwerken aus Wissen Innovationen. Somit können zukunftsfähige Lösungen wirtschaftlich umgesetzt und Antworten für gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen, insbesondere im Kontext des Klimawandels, erarbeitet werden.
Zunehmende Bedeutung haben hierbei auch Aspekte zum Schutz terrestrischer, maritimer und weltraumgestützter Infrastrukturen, sowie die Gewährleistung der Sicherheit von Informationssystemen und Daten.

MEDIA CENTER

Hier finden Sie einige Eindrücke von der letzten Nicolaus August Otto Award in Form von Videos, Bildern und Dokumenten. Alle Medien können kostenlos heruntergeladen werden.

Video (347 MB)
Emissionsfreie Mobilität – Von der Vision zur Umsetzung
Video (10,2 MB)
Übergabe NAOA 2021
PDF (2,24 MB)
Festschrift NAOA 2021
PDF (158 KB)
Begrüßungsrede 2021
Dr. Frank Hiller
Vorsitzender des Vorstandes der DEUTZ AG
PDF (420 KB)
Pressemitteilung NAOA 2021,
DEUTZ verleiht Innovationspreis
Video (125 MB)
Akzeptanzrede
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reitzle
Preisträger des Nicolaus August Otto Awards 2020
Video (197 MB)
Laudatio
Prof. Dr. Andreas Pinkwart
Wirtschaftsminister des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen
Video (71,1 MB)
Begrüßungsrede
Dr. Frank Hiller
Vorsitzender des Vorstandes der DEUTZ AG
Video (71,1 MB)
Begrüßungsrede
Dr. Bernd Bohr
Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrates der DEUTZ AG
PDF (4,9 MB)
Festschrift NAOA 2020
Zip (192 MB)
Eindrücke von der NAO-Preisverleihung 2019
PDF (4,7 MB)
Festschrift NAOA 2019
PDF (16,3 KB)
Pressemitteilung NAO 2019
Image (6 MB)
DEUTZ Innovation Center 2020
Image (4 MB)
Vorstandsvorsitzender Dr. Frank Hiller mit der NAO-Trophy 2020